University-Based Child and Family Policy Consortium Website

About the Consortium

The University-Based Child and Family Policy Consortium seeks to inform social policy that optimizes child and family wellbeing.

The Consortium engages members around the core components of the Consortium’s mission:

  • Research – scientific collaboration around child and family policy issues.
  • Career Development – cross-disciplinary undergraduate and graduate training to support the next generation of child and family policy researchers.
  • Engagement – effective research-to-policy and research-to-practice translation; efforts to use research to inform policy and practice.

Consortium members participate in monthly webinars, share resources on the Consortium listserv, and collaborate on various Consortium projects.

History

The Consortium was founded in 2002 by a handful of interested university leaders and today has over 25 member entities. In 2009, the Consortium launched its initial website and received funding from the Foundation for Child Development to establish a strategy and business plan. In 2011, the Consortium started hosting webinars on child and family policy issues. In 2015, the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) became the Consortium’s administrative host. Today, the Consortium has a growing listserv, publishes a quarterly newsletter, and is expanding web content to better serve the needs of members.


Consortium Steering Committee and Staff

Tama Leventhal, Chair 2014-2017 tama.leventhal@tufts.edu
Iheoma Iruka, Vice Chair 2014-2017 iiruka@nebraska.edu
Sara Benning 2017-2019 sbenning@umn.edu
Joshua Brown 2014-2017 cjobrown@fordham.edu
Rebekah Levine Coley 2011-2017 coleyre@bc.edu
Mariah Contreras, Early Career Representative 2016-2018 mariah.contreras@tufts.edu
Michael MacKenzie 2014-2017 michael.mackenzie@rutgers.edu
Cynthia Osborne 2014-2017 cosborne@prc.utexas.edu
Diana Serrano, Student Representative 2017-2019 ds1988rr@brandeis.edu
Greg Welch 2017-2019 gwelch@nebraska.edu
Kenneth A. Dodge, Governing Council Representative 2017-2019 dodge@duke.edu
Natasha Cabrera, Governing Council Representative 2017-2019 ncabrera@umd.edu
Patricia Barton, Consortium Coordinator 2016- pbarton@srcd.org
Martha Zaslow, Consortium Senior Advisor 2016- mzaslow@srcd.org