Equity and Justice

To contact the committee, please email the committee chairs. 

Mission Statement

Equity and justice are goals for healthy child development and are increasingly a focus of research in developmental science. The need for addressing issues of equity and justice has become especially apparent as the world becomes increasingly global, and as children are living in ever more heterogeneous communities. Reflecting the importance of the topic for scientific inquiry, the SRCD Committee on Equity and Justice has as its mission to: 1) promote the importance and legitimacy of national, international, and interdisciplinary scientific scholarship on topics related to equity and justice in childhood and adolescence; 2) enhance efforts to build coherence and to foster conceptual advances within and across the varied approaches to research on equity and justice; and 3) foster the dissemination and implementation of findings that bear on programs and policies related to equity and justice at both national and international levels.

Activities and News

CALL FOR PAPERS: Special Issue Announcement - Developmental Psychology

“Children’s and Adolescents’ Understanding and Experiences of Economic Inequality: Implications for Theory, Research, Policy, and Practice”
Editor:
Martin D. Ruck, PhD
Guest Editors:
Rashmita S. Mistry, PhD, and Constance A. Flanagan, PhD

Equity and Justice Committee Members Publish Volume One of a Two-Part Book Series on Equity and Justice in Developmental Science. 

Horn, S. S., Ruck, M. D., Liben, L. S. (Eds.) (2016).  Equity and justice in developmental sciences (Vol. 1): Theoretical and methodological issues. Advances in Child Development and Behavior. Series Editor: J. B. Benson. London, UK: Elsevier Publishers.

To read this volume, click here.

Developmental science plays a central role in advancing understanding of how inequality and injustice affect the development of young people, and developmental scientists are well positioned to identify, advocate for, and design more equitable and just practices, policies, contexts, and institutions for children and youth. Issues related to equity and justice have been studied by scholars and researchers from a wide range of disciplines including social psychology, education, sociology, anthropology, economics, cognitive science, and developmental psychology. Given this diversity, the corpus of research on equity and justice within developmental science often lacks coherence. The conceptual and empirical reviews contained in Volumes 50 and 51 of the Advances in Child Development and Behavior series offer original and cutting-edge contributions that bring greater coherence and integration to the study and advancement of equity and justice. Volume 1 focuses on conceptual issues, definitions, and critical concepts relevant to equity and justice for developmental science. This volume covers critical methodological issues that serve to either challenge or advance our understanding of, and ability to promote, equity and justice in developmental science.

The second volume, due to be released in August of 2016, will focus on implications for diverse young people, families, and communities.


Back to top

CONTACT

Rashmita S. Mistry, Chair 2013-2017 mistry@gseis.ucla.edu
Christia Spears Brown 2015-2019 christia.brown@uky.edu
Stacey Horn 2013-2017 sshorn@uic.edu
Noelle Hurd 2015-2019 nh3v@virginia.edu
Martin Ruck 2011-2017 mruck@gc.cuny.edu
Stephen T. Russell 2011-2017 strussel@email.arizona.edu
Russell B. Toomey 2015-2019 Toomey@email.arizona.edu
Tiffany Yip 2013-2017 tyip@fordham.edu
Lynn Liben, Governing Council Representative 2013-2017 liben@psu.edu
Rob Crosnoe, Governing Council Representative 2015-2017 crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
Chelsea Derlan, SECC Representative 2015-2017 cderlan@asu.edu
Lonnie R. Sherrod, Ex Officio 2011-  sherrod@srcd.org
Hannah Klein, Staff Liaison 2014-  hklein@srcd.org

Back to top