Equity and Justice Committee Website

To contact the committee, please email the committee chairs. 

Mission Statement

Equity and justice are goals for healthy child development and are increasingly a focus of research in developmental science. The need for addressing issues of equity and justice has become especially apparent as the world becomes increasingly global, and as children are living in ever more heterogeneous communities. Reflecting the importance of the topic for scientific inquiry, the SRCD Committee on Equity and Justice has as its mission to: 1) promote the importance and legitimacy of national, international, and interdisciplinary scientific scholarship on topics related to equity and justice in childhood and adolescence; 2) enhance efforts to build coherence and to foster conceptual advances within and across the varied approaches to research on equity and justice; and 3) foster the dissemination and implementation of findings that bear on programs and policies related to equity and justice at both national and international levels.


CONTACT

Christia Spears Brown, Chair 2015-2019 christia.brown@uky.edu
Aerika Brittian 2017-2021 brittian@uic.edu
Shauna M. Cooper 2017-2021 Shauna_Cooper@unc.edu
Noelle Hurd 2015-2019 nh3v@virginia.edu
Lisa Kiang 2017-2021 kiangl@wfu.edu
Jennifer A. Kotler Clark 2017-2021 jennifer.kotler@sesameworkshop.org
Russell B. Toomey 2015-2019 toomey@email.arizona.edu
Tiffany Yip 2013-2019 tyip@fordham.edu
Natasha Cabrera, Governing Council Representative 2017-2019 ncabrera@umd.edu
Rashmita S. Mistry, Governing Council Representative 2017-2019 mistry@gseis.ucla.edu
Daisy E. Camacho-Thompson, SECC Representative 2017-2019 daisycamacho@gmail.com
Lonnie R. Sherrod, Ex Officio 2011-  sherrod@srcd.org
Stephanie Custer, Staff Liaison 2016-  scuster@srcd.org

Back to top