Mission Statement

Established in 1990 by the Governing Council, the International Affairs Committee mission is to advocate for an international perspective on child development research and theory within the Society and its work. A central goal of the Committee is to broaden international representation in the membership and publications of the Society. The committee accomplishes its mission by facilitating international collaborations in research, education, and application by holding formal workshops and conferences, as well as informal international exchanges of knowledge about child development.

> Read the Mission Statement formulated at a meeting in Greece. Funded by SRCD's research grant program.
> Information about the International Consortium of Developmental Science Associations
> Read the International Affairs Committee Spotlight - June 1, 2018

Human Development Intervention Network

The International Affairs committee launched a new global network for human development intervention research, particularly in low- and middle-income countries. Using the new global network, a researcher or interventionist is able to create a member profile on the network and then use searchable databases to connect with other individuals conducting similar work and to access resources to use in designing human development interventions and evaluations. We developed and launched an on-line platform (www.hdin.org) that:

  1. Connects individuals conducting research and human development interventions in different countries to researchers with related interests;
  2. Indexes measures that can be used in evaluations of interventions and methods that can promote rigorous evaluations; and
  3. Facilitates exchanges of ideas among a network of scholars and action partners who implement interventions to promote human development around the world.

Publication News

This just-published volume follows from the SRCD special topic meeting held in Prague in fall 2014 on positive youth development in the context of the global recession. Positive youth development in global contexts of social and economic change, Petersen, A. C., Koller, S. H., Motti-Stefanidi, F., & Verma, S. (Eds.). (2017)

For more information, visit the publisher's website.

 

Silvia H. Koller, Co-Chair 2015-2019 silvia.koller@gmail.com
Gianluca Esposito, Co-Chair 2017-2021 gesposito79@gmail.com
Prerna Banati 2017-2021 pbanati@unicef.org
Marilou Hyson 2015-2019 marilou.hyson@gmail.com
Jill Korbin 2017-2021 jill.korbin@case.edu
Suman Verma 2015-2019 suman992003@yahoo.com
Qing Zhou 2017-2021 qingzhou@berkeley.edu
Mary Gauvain, Governing Council Representative 2013-2019 mary.gauvain@ucr.edu
Frosso Motti, Governing Council Representative 2015-2019 frmotti@psych.uoa.gr
Olivia Smith, SECC Representative 2017-2019 oxs140330@utdallas.edu