University-Based Child & Family Policy Consortium

The University-Based Child and Family Policy Consortium seeks to inform social policy that optimizes child and family wellbeing.

Visit the University-Based Child and Family Policy Consortium Website

About the Consortium

The Consortium engages members around the core components of the Consortium’s mission:

  • Research – scientific collaboration around child and family policy issues.
  • Career Development – cross-disciplinary undergraduate and graduate training to support the next generation of child and family policy researchers.
  • Engagement – effective research-to-policy and research-to-practice translation; efforts to use research to inform policy and practice.

Consortium members participate in monthly webinars, share resources on the Consortium listserv, and collaborate on various Consortium projects.


The Consortium was founded in 2002 by a handful of interested university leaders and today has over 25 member entities. In 2009, the Consortium launched its initial website and received funding from the Foundation for Child Development to establish a strategy and business plan. In 2011, the Consortium started hosting webinars on child and family policy issues. In 2015, the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) became the Consortium’s administrative host. Today, the Consortium has a growing listserv, publishes a quarterly newsletter, and is expanding web content to better serve the needs of members.

Consortium Steering Committee and Staff

Tama Leventhal, Chair 2014-2021 Tufts University
Joshua Brown, Vice Chair 2014-2021 Fordham University
Sara Benning 2017-2021 University of Minnesota
Rebekah Levine Coley 2011-2021 Boston College
Michael MacKenzie 2014-2021 Rutgers University
Cynthia Osborne 2014-2021 University of Texas at Austin
Greg Welch 2017-2021 University of Nebraska
Mariah Contreras, Early Career Representative 2016-2019 Tufts University
Diana Serrano, Student Representative 2017-2019 Brandeis University
Kenneth A. Dodge, Governing Council Representative 2017-2021 Duke University
Natasha Cabrera, Governing Council Representative 2017-2021 University of Maryland, College Park