Ethnic & Racial Issues Committee


Mission Statement

The Ethnic and Racial Issues Committee is responsible for the development and oversight of activities pertaining to the participation of minority scholars in SRCD and for promoting developmental research on ethnic minority children and adolescents. To carry out this responsibility the committee’s activities are focused on the following three areas:

  1. The development of an academic pipeline with the purpose of increasing the number of ethnic minority scholars conducting research in the field of child development (broadly defined). As part of this charge, the committee oversees the Frances Degen Horowitz Millennium Scholars Program (MSP), assists with reviewing MSP applications, and encourages members of the Ethnic and Racial Issues Committee to participate in MSP activities.
  2. To examine the current state of research in the field and to promote opportunities that result in increased levels of research focused on the development of ethnic minority children and adolescents. The Committee provides guidance and recommendations to the Society concerning the inclusion of such research through the Society’s publications, biennial meetings, and other external outlets. 
  3. To serve as a liaison to other groups and organizations concerned with research on ethnic minority children and adolescents (i.e., the Asian Caucusthe Black Caucusthe Latinx Caucus, and the International Affairs Committee).

> Visit the Ethnic and Racial Issues Committee Website
> Read the Ethnic & Racial Issues Committee Spotlight - May 30, 2019

Committee Roster

Margaret Caughy, Co-Chair 2017-2021 University of Georgia
Gabriela Livas Stein, Co-Chair 2017-2021 University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Barbara Rogoff 2017-2021 University of California, Santa Cruz
Rebecca M. White 2017-2021 Arizona State University
Mariah Contreras 2019-2023 Tufts University
Linda Halgunseth 2019-2023 University of Connecticut
Lionel Howard 2019-2023 George Washington University
Wonjung Oh 2019-2023 Texas Tech University
Ciara Smalls Glover 2019-2023 Georgia State University
Rashmita Mistry, Governing Council Representative 2019-2021 University of California, Los Angeles
Lauren C. Mims, SECC Representative 2019-2021 Ball State University