To contact the committee, please email the committee chairs

> Read the Interdisciplinary Committee Spotlight - February 22, 2019

Mission Statement

The Interdisciplinary Committee takes its charge from the statement of the multidisciplinary task force:

SRCD will reflect the fact that an understanding of development requires the perspectives and methods of multiple disciplines. SRCD encompasses psychology, human development, sociology, family studies, biology, education, pediatrics, psychiatry, social work, public health, economics, anthropology, and other disciplines that are relevant for an understanding of development. It embraces the rich diversity of quantitative and qualitative methods associated with these specializations. As the scientific world leans increasingly towards division and compartmentalization, SRCD’s role in encouraging a multidisciplinary perspective for understanding human development becomes increasingly important. SRCD will increase its efforts to provide a forum in which scientists of various disciplines can share research and interdisciplinary scientific methods and to promote a receptive climate for truly transdisciplinary research that will advance understanding of the complexities of child and adolescent development.

Activities and News

2015 Interdisciplinary Committee Coffee Hour Brochure

2015 Interdisciplinary Committee Coffee Hour Flyer

Back to top


Back to top


In this page, we include some suggestions of interdisciplinary programs of potential interest for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty. The list of programs is not comprehensive, so you can contact the Committee to ask for the consideration of other programs.

Back to top





Back to top


·      The journal Research in Human Development has just published a new special issue calls “Just one wish for the study of human development” edited by Richard A. Stetterston and Megan McClelland (Oregon State University). The issue includes the section “Interdisciplinary collaboration and playing well with others” which contains the following papers:

Back to top


Gary W. Evans (2017 SRCD Inderdisciplinary Awardee)

Thomas S. Weisner (2017 SRCD Inderdisciplinary Awardee)

Carol Worthman (2015 SRCD Interdisciplinary Awardee)

Tom Boyce (2015 SRCD Interdisciplinary Awardee)

Back to top


Katherine Magnuson, Co-Chair 2015-2019
Jennifer S. Silk, Co-Chair 2015-2019
Lori A. Francis 2015-2019
Lee T. Gettler 2017-2021
Lynn A. Karoly 2017-2021
Alan L. Mendelsohn 2017-2021
Prachi Shah 2017-2021
Andrew J. Fuligni, Governing Council Representative 2015-2019
Emily A. Abel, SECC Representative 2017-2019

Back to top