Mission Statement

The Student and Early Career Council’s (SECC) overarching goal is to foster the development of student and early career scholars who are the future of interdisciplinary research on infant, child and adolescent development in diverse contexts and across life-long trajectories.

We engage student and early career scholars with the work and activities of the SRCD. SECC fosters student and early career engagement at multiple levels through membership, active participation at the Biennial Meeting, and professional development opportunities.

SECC was established in 1999.

SECC Initiatives

SECC offers a Dissertation Funding Award for graduate students who are in the dissertation proposal stage. Click here for additional application information and to see past winners.

SECC is involved in programming related to student and early career interests at the SRCD biennial.

SECC representatives serve on SRCD committees and SECC co-chairs serve on Governing Council to highlight and advocate for student and early career needs and interests. By serving on committees and Governing Council, SECC also serves as an internal information-sharing venue to coordinate activities across the different committees.

> Get to Know Your SECC Representatives

SECC Representatives

Guadalupe Espinoza, Co-Chair 2013-2021 guadespinoza@fullerton.edu
Natalia Palacios, Co-Chair 2015-2019 nap5s@virginia.edu
Emily A. Abel 2017-2021 abel5@purdue.edu
Stephen Asatsa 2017-2021 steveasatsa@gmail.com
Daisy E. Camacho-Thompson 2017-2019 daisycamacho@gmail.com
Robey Champine 2015-2019 robey.champine@yale.edu
Chelsea Derlan 2015-2019 cderlan@asu.edu
Radosveta Dimitrova 2013-2019 rdimitrova@tiscali.it
Larissa Gaias 2015-2019 larissamichelle19@gmail.com
Henry Gonzalez 2017-2021 henry.gonzalez@asu.edu
Jose Michael Gonzalez 2015-2019 jmgonzalez@email.arizona.edu
Meredith A. Henry 2015-2019 mahenry@uab.edu
Erin Hillard 2015-2019 ehillard@nd.edu
Rachel C. Katz 2017-2021 rachel.katz@tufts.edu
Diana Meter 2015-2019 diana.meter@usu.edu
Sarah E. Murphy 2017-2021 sarah.e.murphy@utexas.edu
Erica D. Musser 2015-2019 emusser@fiu.edu
Katherine Paschall 2017-2021 katherine.paschall@gmail.com
Olivia Smith 2017-2021 oxs140330@utdallas.edu
Deyaun Villarreal 2017-2021 deyaun.villarreal@utdallas.edu
Velma McBride Murry, Governing Council Representative 2017-2019 velma.m.murry@vanderbilt.edu
Hailey Buck, Staff Liaison 2016-  hkbuck@srcd.org
Tacarra Andrade 2015-  tandrade@srcd.org

Information on SECC Elections

Next election cycle: Fall of 2018 (to begin term at the 2019 Biennial Meeting)

Students and early career members are simultaneously elected as a representative to a specific SRCD committee for a two-year term, and to SECC for a four-year term. Please contact the current committee representative for information regarding the goals and requirements of a specific committee. To learn more about SECC, contact SECC co-chairs.

Eligibility:
Nominees for Student and Early Career Representatives are open to students and early career individuals who are (1) between the second year of doctoral studies and one year post-Ph.D.; (2) current members of SRCD; (3) and have been members for at least one year. Consistent with the SRCD initiatives to improve multidisciplinary and multicultural collaboration in the developmental science field, we are especially interested in receiving nominations from international members and individuals from under-represented groups and disciplines.


Contact Early Career Representatives at secc@srcd.org