Announcing the 2023 Incoming Committee Members and SECC Representatives to SRCD Committees


Newly Elected SECC Representatives to SRCD Committees

The Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) is pleased to announce the newly elected Student and Early Career Council (SECC) Representatives to SRCD Committees. Representatives serve in SECC for a four-year term with the first two years serving in their respective committees. Get to know your SECC Representatives here.

  • Michelle Brown, Co-Chair and Incoming SECC Representative to the Governing Council
  • Meg Bishop, Equity and Justice Committee
  • Melissa Lucas, Ethnic and Racial Issues Committee
  • Ekjyot Saini, Interdisciplinary Committee
  • Nazlı Akay, International Affairs Committee
  • Vanessa Bermudez, Program Committee
  • Claudia Kruzik, Publications Committee
  • Qingyang Liu, Science and Social Policy Committee
  • Ashleigh Aviles, Teaching Committee

Newly Appointed SRCD Committee Members

SRCD has 15 operational and standing committees, eight with newly appointed members, each with their own mission aimed to help the Society move forward as a leader in child development research. The Society congratulates the newly appointed committee members listed below.

Equity & Justice Committee

  • Erika Hernandez (New Co-Chair) , Penn State University
  • Eva E. Chen, National Tsing Hua University
  • Michael Alan Medina, Boston University
  • Soojin Oh Park, University of Washington
  • Jihee Im, Penn State University
  • Norma J. Perez-Brena, University of Arizona 

Ethnic & Racial Issues Committee

  • Mona Abo-Zena (Promoted to Co-Chair), University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • Yijie Wang (Promoted to Co-Chair), Michigan State University
  • Mellissa Gordon, University of Delaware
  • Alan Meca, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Jacqueline Nguyen, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  • Melissa Delgado, University of Arizona

Finance & Audit Committee

  • James Bray, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Yuyan Luo, University of Missouri

Interdisciplinary Committee

  • Samantha Brown (Promoted to Co-Chair), Colorado State University
  • Pilyoung Kim (New Co-Chair), Denver University
  • Erinn B. Duprey, Children’s Institute and Mount Hope Family Center at the University of Rochester
  • Jennifer LoCasale-Crouch, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Sonya Negriff, Kaiser Permanente, Southern California

International Affairs Committee

  • Kathryn Modecki (Promoted to Co-Chair), Griffith University
  • Vaishali Raval (Promoted to Co-Chair), University of Miami Ohio 
  • Abraham Sagi-Schwartz, University of Haifa/Tel-Hai College
  • Stella Christie, Tsinghua University
  • Shuang Lu, University of Central Florida

Publications Committee

  • Wei Quin Yow (New Co-Chair), Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Qing Zhou (Co-Chair), University of California – Berkeley
  • Stacey N. Doan, Claremont McKenna College
  • Natalia Palacios, University of Virginia
  • Kristine Marceau, Purdue University, West Lafayette
  • Matthew E. Foster, University of South Florida
  • Lauren Bader, Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse University
  • Yixun Li, The Education University of Hong Kong
  • Florrie Fei-Yin Ng, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Science & Social Policy Committee

  • Sara Vecchiotti (Promoted to Co-Chair), Foundation for Child Development
  • Steven John Holochwost, Lehman College City University of New York
  • Guadalupe Diaz-Lara, California State University – Fullerton
  • Dara Blachman-Demner, National Institute of Health
  • Dalal Katsiaficas, University of Illinois at Chicago

Teaching Committee

  • Aya Shigeto (Promoted to Co-Chair), Nova Southeastern University
  • Rebecca Martin, South Dakota State University
  • Eva Chen, Benedict College
  • Helena Mawdsley, University of Florida
  • Soo-Young Hong, University of Nebraska – Lincoln